The Spit and the Pendulum

I feel the need to get back to my not-so-serious roots today, and discuss one of my son’s latest irritating habits: spitting.  I totally think it’s a guy thing.  I know my husband reflexively spits when he’s outside.  I don’t get it.  He manages to retain his saliva within the confines of his mouth when we’re indoors, but when we’re out and about all bets are off.  I’ve even asked him about it.  He’s unaware that he’s doing it.  Nasty.

Anyway, I can remember Stella went through a spitting phase.  I remember it was irritating. I remember it was brief.  Felix?  We’re into week 3 or 4 now.  He loves it.  He will spit water.  He spits chocolate milk.  He spits apple juice.  And even better than the spitting is the splashing in it, or the rubbing of the spit tainted liquid into furniture.

I'd even prefer playing with food, as in this case when he turned his corn dog remnants into a wheel and axle.

I’d even prefer playing with food, as in this case when he turned his corn dog remnants into a wheel and axle.

He’s apparently taught all of his comrades at school how to do it, too.  His teacher reports that one day she turned around to find Felix spitting.  By that afternoon, her whole classroom looked as if a fire hose had discharged through the window.  All I could do was apologize and point out that at least it was just water??

Please oh please let this be nearing an end. I’m tired of sticky floors and furniture.  I’m not sure how to clean apple juice or milk spots from a plasma TV screen.   Bring on nose-picking, butt scratching.  Just end the era of spitting.

The kids are desperate to make friends with the Three Stupid Cats.

The kids are desperate to make friends with the Three Stupid Cats.

I keep trying to explain to Felix that cats don't like water...

I keep trying to explain to Felix that cats don’t like water…

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life, Parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

