Be Ashirtive

Once upon a time when I was young, energetic, beautiful, and hip, I used to go to concerts. I went to loads and loads of concerts. And almost without fail, I’d buy a T-shirt while I was there. By the time I grew out of that particular phase of my life, I had dozens – Nine Inch Nails, Social Distortion, The Cure, Siouxsie and the Banshees, Peter Murphy. My T-shirt drawer bulged with them.

Over time, I purged all but a few. Some were rather indecent for a grown-up to wear – my My Life With the Thrill Kill Kult “Sexplosion Tour” comes to mind. Others were just not cool enough to keep after 5-10 years. All were bought extra huge so were only suitable for pairing with pajama bottoms or for use while painting a house. But I still have a handful – emblems of a different time.

Now I’m accumulating a different kind of shirt- school field trip shirts. They are all an obnoxiously loud variation on neon green. They are designed to scream “I’M PART OF THE GROUP!” and to be visible from space. I get it.

But they are all green. As I ranted in front of the mirror this morning getting ready for our latest excursion, I tried to think of a better color. Pink? The girls would like it, but no doubt some redneck troglodyte would accuse the school of “gay-ifying” the boys. Same with purple. Little girls would riot at blue, wanting to know why they had to wear a “boy” color. Yellow and orange might work, but I think we pasty people would look even worse in those colors.

So green it is. *shudders*. I wonder how extensive this collection will become? 

 

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life, Parenting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Be Ashirtive

  1. I knew you guys were wearing green shirts from all the way up here! Haha. 😛 Anyway, when did you get to see Nine Inch Nails? I’m absolutely envious! I would love to see Nine Inch Nails or Tool live!

Leave a Reply

