Donuts and Bolts

My son’s strange obsession with random objects continues. It drives my husband crazy.  I think it’s pretty funny, although the meltdowns when the Precious du jour becomes misplaced or somehow damaged are severely irritating.  What I have noticed is that the duration of Preciousness seems to be getting longer.  A month or so ago, an item might have been a Precious for 30 minutes.  Now things are Precious for a long long time.  Some examples:

Meet Blue Donut and Yellow Dot Donut.  Original (green) Donut is in the middle.

Meet Blue Donut and Yellow Dot Donut. Original (green) Donut is in the middle.

  • The Donuts: Yes, now there are 3.  I must say, however, that he no longer insists on sleeping with them.  Now they are mainly used as tower fodder or materials for building tunnels or foxholes.  I dig it.  I think within another month or so, I may be able to “disappear” the Donuts one by one.

    Felix in the Donut box

    Felix in the Donut box

  • Teeny tiny whisk: This is exactly that: a miniature metal whisk from a play kitchen set at Oui Oui’s house.  Teeny tiny whisk has enjoyed many baths, bedtimes, and meals.  Teeny tiny whisk brings great displeasure whenever it disappears (it’s currently in his daddy’s car and mean old daddy won’t get it for him) or food becomes lodged in it.
  • Slinky: For some harebrained reason, I bought him a slinky at the store. It’s now a Precious.  He has had a death grip on it for days, howling whenever his sister wants a turn (I don’t know how many times this past weekend I had to holler at them for playing tug of war with it and then soothe bashed up fingers whenever one end of it was abruptly released) or when it gets the inevitable small kinks in it.  I’m actually amazed it hasn’t yet knotted up.  I’m also grateful that Teeny tiny whisk is missing, as no doubt it would have been combined with Slinky to form a super-tangle.
    Slinky on its way to bed

    Slinky on its way to bed

    Slinky as makeshift food container

    Slinky as makeshift food container

  • Random food: Yesterday a small bell pepper from my garden became Precious for about an hour. I distracted him with a new Mater video.  Otherwise, it may have ended up in bed with him.  He’s also fond of uncooked spaghetti noodles.  Until they break.  Then he screams.

    Teeny tiny whisk and a spaghetti noodle - pre-fracture.

    Teeny tiny whisk and a spaghetti noodle – pre-fracture.

Who knows what the next Precious will be.  I only hope whatever it is that it’s robust and inorganic.

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life, Parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Donuts and Bolts

  1. Anxious Mom says:

    He is so precious. Three tubes–love it! I hope he’s better with his slinky than my LM. Since he discovered them at age three, we’ve probably bought 20. He is the slinky killer.

  2. Pingback: Tools Rush In | Dramatic Momologue

Leave a Reply

