Mud Is Thicker Than Water

Our back yard is  a horrible mess.  When we looked at it initially as virgin (read “moron”) potential new homeowners, all we saw were lovely large trees (even if one was uncomfortably close to the back wall) and some beautiful wood decking and walkways.  It was also a hot and dry spring and summer.  Fast forward 6.5 years and the dangerous dying  trees have been removed (at a cost of a ton of money but the savings of our house), the decking has rotted, and we finally discovered the deep dark secret of our back yard: it’s a freaking swamp.  Appropriate given our state of residence, but damned inconvenient.

It’s been getting steadily worse, particularly as the large root systems from the water oaks decompose.  I have replanted trees, of course, but those take time to grow and offer any kind of shade.  One of those trees drowned.  Will and I finally realized that if we want any kind of yard for our kids – and we do….we NEED this just to give them a safe place to burn off energy – we need dirt.  Lots of it.

This is what I'm talking about

This is what I’m talking about

mud1

I’ve spoken before about our adherence to gender roles.  Yard stuff – other than fru fru flower/veg planting) is “man work.”  So Will is in charge.  He determined that prior to any kind of dirt delivery, we needed to pull up the rotting deck.  We do that, get dirt, level the whole mess out, and then put in a nice patio with pavers and such.  We will finally be able to let our children play in their own back yard, safely gated, without worrying about getting sucked into mire or losing half their blood supply due to the rapidly-reproducing mosquitoes, inevitable due to the standing water.

So Saturday, my father- and brother-in-law came over to rip the old deck out.  They also were forced to throw some fire-crackers toward the fence due to the incessant barking of our neighbor’s 3 awful chihuahuas.  But I don’t judge.  Really, I don’t.

Y’all, it looks awful.  And due to the large holes where the cement footings were, it’s very unsafe.  I can’t let my kids back there, and boy do they want to go.  They see that mud and it beckons them like a siren.

My new outdoor sitting area

My new outdoor sitting area

I can only hope we can get phase 2 – the dirt – in soon.  I spent all weekend trying to wrangle my kids solo, and there’s only so many places I can take them by myself.  They’re bored.  I’m frustrated.  We need a bloody yard.

All the togetherness makes it hard to appreciate stuff like this: the Dude making "booby traps" out of his gears and wires.

All the togetherness makes it hard to appreciate stuff like this: the Dude making “booby traps” out of his gears and wires.

And Stella's rendition of Felix's self-reported "hot lava poops."

And Stella’s rendition of Felix’s self-reported “hot lava poops.”

Or this cute if not semi-creepy Donnie Darko-inspired Easter picture.

Or this cute if not semi-creepy Donnie Darko-inspired Easter picture.

At least you can have pedicures safely inside.  Felix wanted blue "footnails" like his mama.  I could not turn that down.

At least you can have pedicures safely inside. Felix wanted blue “footnails” like his mama. I could not turn that down.

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in House and home, life, Parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

