School of Hard Knock-Knocks

About 3 months ago, my household was dealt a glancing blow by the kid-favored knock-knock joke.  I want to say it lasted about 2 weeks.  It was fairly sparse and I was relieved when Stella seemed to forget about it.

It has come roaring back with a vengeance.  It’s horrible.  To begin with, as a format, the knock-knock joke is rather limiting – much as a limerick or haiku might be to a more free-spirted poet.  I also have a problem with the forced audience participation aspect of it.  I have enough things in this life that I have to do; Participation in a joke is not one of my priorities.

We need to work on your delivery, Stella.

We need to work on your delivery, Stella.

And they suck.  Oh my glob do they suck.  My daughter has missed a critical concept in humor: jokes are supposed to be funny, regardless of formatting.  She thinks a punch line is where you stand to get a fruity beverage.  A typical joke goes something like this:

Stella: Knock-knock?

Me: Who’s there (teeth clenched)?

Stella: Tee tee!

Me: Tee tee who? (dreaming of wine)

Stella: Tee tee booty butt.  Hahahahahahahahaha!

I know, Felix.  Her jokes do suck.

I know, Felix. Her jokes do suck.

It is endless.  The only way to stop it is to leave the room.  That’s impossible if you’re on the toilet trying to have a wee and she’s followed you in there, or if you’re in the car stuck in traffic.

I don’t know whether to buy her a joke book or not.  On one hand, it may actually teach her what jokes are supposed to be.  On the other hand, it might extend the duration of this particularly un-funny hell. Just make it stop.

No mas!

No mas!

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life, Parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to School of Hard Knock-Knocks

  1. Yep. Gotta love your kids, but man can they be infuriating. The worst part is when they get your bad habits and you can see your terrible habit right in front of your face. IE my habit of repeating things just so people know what I said is funny, then see my daughter do the same thing to me. Ugggh.

  2. Anxious Mom says:

    We heard crap like “Knock knock…who’s there…a bird…a bird who…a bird IN YOUR FACE!” forever. Baby Girl better not even.

  3. Cookie says:

    yeah. you know what else Destroyer doesn’t know understand the concept of? Hide and Seek.
    I can’t fucking seek for ou if you tell me where you are, kid!

Leave a Reply

