North, South, Easter, West

By the looks of things, most of us took the long weekend off.  I hope all of you out there had a wonderful holiday and celebrated it however you wished.  Our weekend was pretty busy.

Friday was Furniture Day.  This was huge.  My in-laws arrived mid-morning to pick up our old stuff (to be sold for charity, although I pity the person who would want anything out of my house).  We had a 4 hour window between noon and 4:00 for the delivery.  It came at 3:30.  It was along afternoon lounging on the floor with 2 bored, rowdy kids.  Then finally, it arrived.  It was glorious.  And now we live in terror of every spill, smudge, and cat claw.  It’s the equivalent (I guess) of having a new car and being afraid to take it out of the garage.  But it does feel and look wonderful.

I was mom couch.

I was mom couch.

I did get my awesome campaign 2016 Tshirt in the mail.  I really might write in Frank Underwood in November.

I did get my awesome campaign 2016 Tshirt in the mail. I really might write in Frank Underwood in November.

Saturday was fairly uneventful other than a play date from hell.  The kids had fun.   Felix played in the dirt and exhibited all the best qualities of Pig Pen by the end, leaving dusty trails in his wake as he ran around.  Stella went “nature walking” and found a boggy area where she promptly got stuck in the mud.  I got stuck in the mud trying to extract her.  We both had mud up to our ankles by the time we left.  I also had mud up to one wrist from when I had to retrieve both of our pairs of shoes.

We did do some natural egg dyeing.  These were done using flora around the house and purple cabbage.

We did do some natural egg dyeing. These were done using flora around the house and purple cabbage.

Sunday was Easter, of course.  The bunny came.  I sucked at taking pictures.  I did not get a single good one.  Suffice it to say, the kids were pleased.  They were even more pleased when we went to my in-laws’ house for crawfish.

Crawfish menacing.

Crawfish menacing.

Don't worry:  the mudbugs you see here were granted the equivalent of a presidential pardon.  They missed the pot since they were schmoozing with my kids.  They were subsequently freed in the adjacent ditch.

Don’t worry: the mudbugs you see here were granted the equivalent of a presidential pardon. They missed the pot since they were schmoozing with my kids. They were subsequently freed in the adjacent ditch.

I admit: I don’t get crawfish.  They’re a lot of work for tiny morsels of meat – meat which you can’t really taste because of the hell broth it’s boiled in.  But folks love them.  Crawfish boils are a huge thing.  It’s rather communal.  My kids had an absolute ball.  Felix was fearless, picking up handfuls of live ones.  I’m still amazed he didn’t get pinched at least once.  Stella started skittish, but gradually warmed up.  By the end of the day, she had a whole “family” of crawfish, complete with names.  Galena was my favorite.  Parenting/science win, there.  She must have been paying attention during the preparation of our Venus poster.

Stella with Galena.  Galena was cold and needed a leaf blanket.

Stella with Galena. Galena was cold and needed a leaf blanket.

I am so grateful that Felix didn't insist on making this boiled crawfish head a Precious.  It was touch and go there for a while.

I am so grateful that Felix didn’t insist on making this boiled crawfish head a Precious. It was touch and go there for a while.

And now it’s back to business as usual.  I hope you are all well and that your peeps are stored properly in the back of your pantry so that you can rediscover them in October and throw their stale pastel asses away.

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life, Parenting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to North, South, Easter, West

  1. I don’t get any of those seafood things. So much work, for so little meat.

  2. Anxious Mom says:

    I’m dying over here at the thought of one of those things becoming a precious. Eek!

Leave a Reply

