The Church for Spock

I fully subscribe to the belief that one should avoid discussions about politics and religion in most cases.  Once upon a time, I relished debates and discourse.  Now?  Not so much.  I have enough conflict in my daily life that I prefer to avoid stirring the merde.  That being said, we may be entering a new era around our household – one that I wasn’t expecting for at least another year or so.circlek

Without getting into particulars, I don’t do religion.  Neither does Will.  We’re both grown-ass people who have spent loads of time thinking about this stuff, and reached our own conclusions.  Our opinions are different from others’ and that’s perfectly OK.  We are very much a live and let live bunch over here. Unless you try to behead me or someone else.  Then we have a problem.

I fully expected that my kids would have questions about religion at some point.  What is a church?  Why don’t we go?  Who is god/Jesus?  My intention was – and is – to let them ask questions, to answer their questions in an honest and non-prejudicial way, to refer them to other people in our lives that I feel can do the same (i.e. without indoctrination), and ultimately when they are at an age where they are cognitively able to make a decision, come to their own conclusion.  That just makes sense to me.

Last weekend out of absolutely nowhere, Stella asked about church, and why weren’t we going.  I think I handled myself OK.  I just said that church was a place that some people went to – usually on Sunday mornings – and that her daddy and I chose not to do that.  She seemed to accept that answer.  But man, it made me sweat a bit.  I’m not sure why.

She’s been talking a bit about angels.  I think she’s seen images of them at my in-laws’ house.  She thinks they’re beautiful.  I think in her mind angels are just very large fairies with feathery wings vs. the standard gossamer/insect-like wings of your garden-variety Tinkerbell.

And then there was this:e

I  mean, 5 years old and asking these kinds of questions?  Really?  I’m way more confident explaining what farts are than delving into the metaphysical/why are we here miasma.

But then the next day I found this:
h

“Send money quick!”  That’s better.  Maybe if she gathers enough $$ I can hire Morgan Freeman to come over and have these deep discussions with her.

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life, Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Church for Spock

  1. stomperdad says:

    LOL We haven’t gotten the deep questions yet. Just the sciences and social studies 🙂 Perhaps I’ll refer them to you when they ask!

  2. Meg C. DeBoe says:

    I would like to compliment you on your use of miasma. Bravo!

  3. Yeah, the religion and politics things are hard and very touchy. I try to avoid them as much as I can. It’s sure fun when kids start asking questions that you aren’t ready for and it sure does make you sweat when you aren’t exactly sure how to word something. Just wait until you have the sex talk with them!

    • larva225 says:

      I’ve had glancing blows with that stuff (“My bagina is my front butt”). It’s terrifying.

      • Yeah, it is pretty glorious. We’ve already had the talk with the oldest girl, but the boy is coming soon and I’m kind of dreading it.

      • larva225 says:

        I would think the girl talk would be worse…

      • She was actually fairly open and not too grossed out by it, so we were good. She definitely perks her ears up more when we talk about anything related to it. I’m just glad that we were the first to talk to her about before her friends got in her ear about it (I think), but I think we need to still keep that kind of talk up so she doesn’t get any of the sick stuff from her friends.

      • larva225 says:

        That’s a magnificent attitude! How old is she – if that’s not TMI.

      • She’s 11. But she is so tall, that she could easily pass for 13 or 14. Which is why it is even more important for us to keep her educated of the evils of boys.

  4. Anxious Mom says:

    Stella reminds me so much of LM. We went to church when he was younger, best way to horrify the church folk is for your 5-year-old to ask for scientific proof that there’s a God!

  5. joey says:

    I am surprised by the amount of religious chatter/questioning/persecution that goes on between students in public schools these days. My kids tell me the craziest stories!
    Angels are pretty, I agree, like giant fairies, I agree! 🙂

    • larva225 says:

      I can only imagine what I’ll be hearing over the next handful of years. Part of it, no doubt, is a sign of the times. Loads of oversharing – from religion to poo – and prickly political correctness. It’s bonkers!
      As for the imagery and symbols, I dread the day my daughter takes notice of a crucifix. I guess I ought to be formulating an answer to that one now!

Leave a Reply

