Bully Durham

The weekend was a mixed bag.  Saturday kind of turned into a disaster.  We didn’t have much planned – a trip to Home Depot followed by a few hours in the back yard planting grass and flower seeds in our new dirt.  It was too wet, however.  Will was on call, which meant he had to occasionally run to his computer or get on the phone to put out a fire.  The kids were both just having bad days, especially after Felix dropped his new plant Precious for the 3rd time resulting in significant loss of soil and biomass and causing me to confiscate it out of mercy.

Felix and his Plant Precious spent a good amount of time together, lunching and playing.

Felix and his Plant Precious spent a good amount of time together, lunching and playing.

Until Plant Precious cried "Uncle" in the way only a plant can....

Until Plant Precious cried “Uncle” in the way only a plant can….

Do/does your kid/kids ever just have a random asshole day?  They’re still cute and you still love them more than life itself, but they just act like little shits all the live-long day for no apparent reason dammit.  That was Saturday at our house.  It should not have been that rotten.  I have no idea how many time-outs were issued.  It was bunches.  I had been about to reach out to see about setting up a play-date when Stella appeared out of a time-out covered in blue F’ing sharpie pen ink.  She had done her eyebrows, lashes, lips, a full beard, and legs.  I mean really??

To cap off the fun, the cats opted to vomit on every single surface of the house, particularly our bed.  This resulted in 4 extra loads of mandatory and unexpected laundry.  Saturday was a day that you  just feel lucky to have survived without punching someone or something.

Yesterday was better.  Oui Oui offered to take the kids for a while, maybe sensing the imminent losing of my shit.  Will and I ran some errands, which is almost blissful without kids in tow, ate a quick lunch, and then drank French 75’s.  I got to watch Deadpool.  OH MY GLOB THAT MOVIE IS HILARIOUS.  I laughed until I cried.  It was so good for my soul.  I really really needed that.  Oh, and I found out  my dad and stepmother are coming to visit in a few weeks.  I’m so excited!  We haven’t seen them in a full year.

Sunday morning was much more peaceful (yes, that's Stella in there).

Sunday morning was much more peaceful (yes, that’s Stella in there).

Felix always enjoys the Sunday paper.

Felix always enjoys the Sunday paper.

Everyone is happier and invigorated after some down time and super hero movies.

Everyone is happier and invigorated after some down time and super hero movies.

This morning, my heart broke for my daughter.  She’s just starting to complain about going to school.  It may just be spring fever.  I’m always terrified it’s something else – that kids are picking on her.  She just seemed so sad when I left for work.  She’s begging me to come eat lunch with her, but I just can’t do that every day.  This is when I wish I did have more of my side of the family around, so that we would have more people available for stuff like that.  I tried to tell her we have so much cool stuff on the near horizon, but I’m not sure a 5 year old gets that.

I’m just ready to get the rest of this school year done so we can regroup, assess, and lick our wounds.  Maybe meds?  I don’t know.  That’s a large looming decision, and one I don’t want to make.

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Bully Durham

  1. Anxious Mom says:

    That sharpie makeup sounds amazing 😀

  2. Cookie says:

    Seriously my biggest fear about sending my daughter to school in the fall. What if the kids are bastards to her?
    I was on the fence about homeschool and if one little shit is mean to my baby I’ll pull her out.
    And I’ll probably vagina punch their mom. Because I’m a reasonable person.Clearly.

Leave a Reply

