House of the Rotting Bun (really, a Twinkie – sort of)

At long last, our science project has reached its finale.  The video is done.  We will be meeting Stella at school today for lunch and her presentation.  It’s not bad for a 5 year old in kindergarten, although mad props go to her father for fantastic video editing – the first of its kind for him.

I will be grateful to finally throw away our 8 jars, some of which contain unspeakable things at this point.  I can only hope I make it from the office to the school to my house again without vehicular incident.  I’d hate to think of what might happen if some of those spores get out.

I’ve said it before, but bitch better give her an A.

I’m not discussing Stella and her meds at this point.  It’s only been 3 doses so far.  Now that my mom-beast hackles are settling down, I’m in scientist-mom mode, watching, making observations, weighing options.  I will no doubt discuss this in great detail later, but not today. 

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life, Parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to House of the Rotting Bun (really, a Twinkie – sort of)

  1. Terri says:

    1) Stella is adorable and very knowledgeable.
    2) A+ to dad on editing.
    3) Summer sausage is scary.

  2. Meg C. DeBoe says:

    I second Terri. Stella is adorable! That sausage freaked me out. It grew? And pretty much immediately had a bug in there with it. Yuck!

  3. stomperdad says:

    HA! Mold projects are great. This was a staple in class when I was teaching 4th grade. We never did time lapse video, though. Great idea and great editing!

  4. Anxious Mom says:

    She did a great job! That’s beyond what I’ve seen other second and third graders do for science projects. She better get that damn A! If not, open those jars, dump it all on Harpy’s desk on the last day, and run!

  5. Merbear74 says:

    Those gummies still look pretty tasty.

    • larva225 says:

      I had to beat the kindergarteners off of that jar, along with the popcorn and Twinkie. As for the bread? I don’t think I’ll ever eat Bunny Bread again. I figured that would have grown a whole ecosystem, but not a spore appeared. Creepy!!

Leave a Reply

