Uno, Dose, Tres, Quatro, Sinko

Some things, in no particular order:

  • Stella’s presentation at school went so well.  I’m still beaming about it 2 days later.  She had so much fun standing up in front of her peers and introducing her video and poster.  Her video was very well-received, to put it mildly.  Even the Harpy smiled and sent a message to another teacher to come see it.  When I picked Stella up that afternoon, all the ladies in the carpool told me how cool and good it was.  My daughter got to be the cool kid on Monday – not the “different” kid.  How marvelous is that?

    wed3

    No, this has nothing to do with the above paragraph. I just liked this picture and couldn’t think of a dragonfly-themed blog to post.

  • I sometimes drive a few hours west for work.  There are these wonderful birds called cackles, I think.  They make this odd whistle and have the neatest mannerism.  I like to stop at gas stations and get some kind of random snack to feed them.  No, I don’t break out into “Feed the Birds” a la Mary Poppins.

    One of my feathery friends

    One of my feathery friends

  • Felix continues to make me laugh every single day.  He now loves to sing Ride of the Valkyries.  He knows that that’s not Beethoven, but “Fognut.”  He builds stuff out of anything he can find: pine straw, pieces of wood, sticks, gears.  He’s always building something.  He will also go up to you know and go “Pew! Pew!” if he gets pissed.  I guess he’s shooting people with cuteness – only without any kind of pretend firearm?  It’s funny only because he’s about as non-threatening as they come.

    The dude looking at me through the lens of his Cool Slinky

    The dude looking at me through the lens of his Cool Slinky

  • I’m cautiously optimistic about Stella and the meds.  It’s only day 5 but she seems a lot more present.  She’s gotten all green dots at school.  More importantly, she still seems like Stella.  They do wear off about 4:00-5:00, and then things unravel pretty spectacularly.  She’s tossed and turned a bit more than usual at night, but otherwise there seem to be no major side effects.  Perhaps a slightly diminished appetite.  I  know this chapter is only beginning.  I know it’s still going to be a long road.  But I’m starting to accept the fact that meds are not horrible.  I think this will end up like when Felix had tubes put in.  I was hysterical that my little boy was being put under for perhaps unnecessary and over-prescribed surgery.  We haven’t had an ear infection or antibiotics since.  I feel like a moron for getting so worked up.

    A mellow Sunday morning shot

    A mellow Sunday morning shot

  • If you see my husband tell him to FIX THE SINK for my mother’s day present, si?

    The T-rex riding marauder will get him otherwise.

    The T-rex riding marauder will get him otherwise.

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life, Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Uno, Dose, Tres, Quatro, Sinko

  1. Anxious Mom says:

    So glad that Stella’s presentation went well and that the meds seem to be helping! LM goes for his appointment on Monday (I think) to see what their final recommendations/diagnoses/other crap will be.

    • larva225 says:

      Ain’t it grand (eyes rolling)? However, it sounds like you’ve largely had a better team than we have. Fingers crossed! This stuff stinks!

      • Anxious Mom says:

        Thanks! I just hope they don’t say, “Well, he seems like he has all the things but is just Twice Exceptional” and not make any recommendations or anything. My head might explode.

        Btw, LM’s doctor wrote a prescription for an antidepressant that, in lower doses, is supposed to help with night wetting (the poor kid doesn’t wake up for anything to go), but it’s also used off label to help with ADHD. We haven’t seen much change at home, but he hasn’t gotten any reds at school, aside from me not sending shit in. If nothing, there’s that at least. (Sorry for going on and on here!)

      • larva225 says:

        Rant/write on!! Her pediatrician outright said that twice exceptional kids have a very tough road, as we well know. Stella’s school was suggesting special summer camps for her, specifically for kids with challenges. That would be disastrous for her. If anything, she needs to be paired with older, smarter, responsible kids who will challenge her behavior and intellect.
        I swear, if I were independently wealthy I’d hire a governess. She could teach/homeschool my kid, taking her on field trips for enrichment, and then we’d dive even harder into extracurriculars for the social. Not all kids take well to traditional classroom settings, especially when so young. This is only exacerbated when recess is withheld for whatever inane reason.
        Sorry. I’m done.

  2. Cookie says:

    Glad to hear the meds are going ok.
    As an aside….that bird…..I’m pretty sure it’s called a grackle. But my Zoology degree is 10 years stale, so I might just being totally out to lunch. Either way……Feed the Birds!

Leave a Reply

