The Dad Hatter

We just spent the past 4 days with my dad and stepmother.  They live roughly 19 hours away, so to say the least we don’t see them often.  And I hate that. I never thought too much about it until I had kids.  Sure, I would miss them.  But having family miss your kids is another matter.  You want them to know each other – to experience things together.  And no one is better at worshiping at the altar of your kids than their grandparents.IMG_8198

We didn’t do much, as far as getting out and having adventures.  We ate at a lot of restaurants.  By the end, the kids were starting to complain.  Felix won’t even look at a French fry right now.  The kids did get to enjoy the hotel pool where my dad and stepmother stayed.  Felix got to spend a day with Donut, although my new policy is that he’s allowed to hang out with Donut until the swimming day is over.  At that point, Donut gets safely stowed away until the next swimming day.

The Dude and Donut

The Dude and Donut

We managed to squeeze in a car wash in between restaurants.

We managed to squeeze in a car wash in between restaurants.

My son got so excited one day he bit the merde out of my shoulder.

My son got so excited one day he bit the merde out of my shoulder.

It was a nice visit, although it’s nice to get back to normal.  Certainly my digestive system is grateful to be back on our usual fare.  There’s a lot of transitions now.  Things are in flux big time.  Today is Stella’s last full day at school.  Daisy Scouts are over with until August.  This much-anticipated visit with my dad is over.  We’re supposed to go camping this weekend with Will’s folks.  Stella’s summer camp starts soon.

My garden is already producing produce!

My garden is already producing produce!

Aaaaand a carousel ride at the mall

Aaaaand a carousel ride at the mall

Grandparent visits = new duds

Grandparent visits = new duds

I’m ready for some major down time.  Are y’all as busy as we are?

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life, Parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Dad Hatter

  1. Anxious Mom says:

    Looks like a fun trip! I wish BG’s bites were only a result of excitement and not meanness 😉 Things are mostly winding down for us thankfully.

  2. joey says:

    Yes, it’s such a busy, busy time! I reached the end of my thread a few weeks ago. Two more weeks. Two more weeks, then my schedule belongs to me.

  3. Cookie says:

    Where exactly do you live that school ends mid May?
    Also, that picture of Felix in the car is so completely adorable.

Leave a Reply

