Mt. St. Melons

On Friday afternoon, I picked Stella up early from her final day of kindergarten with the Harpy.  The plan was that she and I would head home, finish packing for our camping trip, and wait for Will and the Dude to return from work/play school so we could leave.  The camp ground was only about 40 miles away, so the drive wasn’t bad at all.  Oui Oui et al left earlier to check in, so the cabins would be open and ready.

And note: I always thought cabin camping was for dweebs.  Then I had small kids. For the record, we do intend to take them “real camping,” perhaps late this fall/early winter when it ceases to be 800 degrees outside.

My husband has ADHD.  This means, among other things, that his concept of time is “different.”  He basically has his own personal wormhole causing the loss of hours at a time without him being conscious of it.  The wormhole got him Friday. I finally grabbed Felix myself and left with the kids.  It sounds cold, but I had cold food in the car melting, not to mention my patience as the kids became more impatient to leave.  It was a good call.  He got to finish what he was doing without me getting violently pissed, and the kids got to eat their dinner at the camp.  He didn’t roll in until well after dark.

It was a good trip.  We all agreed another full night/day would’ve been nice.  The park has a splash pad and playground for the kids and some great hiking trails.  My kiddos really enjoyed the nature center.  I may have to get Felix some turtles at some point.  He was smitten by them all – even the big ugly alligator snapper.The park was crowded.  That was a downer.  When I go camping, I don’t want to see or hear any of my fellow men.  We saw and heard lots of them.  Them’s the breaks, I guess.

An awesome fellow blogger suggested Japan Crate. a monthly box of mystery snacks and treats. I brought it with us.

The idea is that we all try each thing.

Felix was unsure about a gummy strip that reminded me of grape-flavored perfume. He ended up eating 75% of it.


I woke up Sunday feeling poorly – even more poorly than I felt Saturday morning after celebrating no more Harpy in my life and staying up later than I have in about 7 years playing Cards Against Humanity.  That game is a hoot.  Anyway, I felt like I had a bad head cold coming on on top of a pulled muscle/pinched nerve in my left neck and shoulder.  Luckily the trip home was easy and everyone seemed content to chill out for the rest of the day.  Both kids were even ready for bed early, which was great because it was Sunday night and Game of Thrones.

Ten minutes before showtime, we heard the unmistakable sound of puking kid coming from Stella’s room.  Dammit.  

To be fair, her appetite had been low all day.  She had some eggs at breakfast. But otherwise she had only wanted watermelon all day.  She also wanted buttered spaghetti for dinner.  With watermelon.

I think it’s safe to say my daughter doesn’t chew spaghetti.  This stuff looked like it had not actually been eaten, if you could overlook the watermelon concretions located between the strands of pasta.  This was the most solid vomit I’ve ever seen.  It was almost hard to believe.  It was like she was reverse eating.

Will and I cleaned her up and re-installed her in bed with clean blankets and a bowl.  We got to watch Thrones (holy crap!) and there were a few more stomach upsets throughout the night.  It was a long one.

Today has been a girls’ sick day.  She seems fine – just tired with no appetite.  I’m on ibuprofen, Mucinex, and a heating pad.  We shall live to fight another day.

But hell no, I’m not dishing up watermelon and pasta again for a very, very long time.

 

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life, Parenting, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Mt. St. Melons

  1. Anxious Mom says:

    I wonder why “Ding dong, the witch is dead” is running through my head now 😉

    Glad y’all had fun camping! I have never been a tent camping person, I think a KOA-esque camper cabin is roughing it enough! And Cards Against Humanity! ❤ This so makes me want to invite a few friends over and have drinks on the next non-busy weekend that comes up.

    I hope Stella feels better!

  2. Cookie says:

    Sounds like a fun weekend…puking child notwithstanding.
    Also, my husband is incapable of doing anything in a timely manner. I always think how when he comes with us it takes even longer to get ready and out the door because he:
    1. Doesn’t know the routine
    2. takes longer than the kids to get dressed.
    3. Is a man.

    Sigh. Hope your neck feels better.

Leave a Reply

