The Cat and the Snapchat

I am turning into my dad, there’s no doubt.  My dad is one of those souls who – as smart as he is – is a technophobe.  He had barely figured out how to program a VCR (or maybe he hadn’t) when he had to learn to work a DVD player; that’s still a work in progress.  Cell phones have been a bit of a struggle, although he has won that battle.  The fact that he answers the phone on speaker and then shouts into it while holding it like a normal phone call is a function of his hearing rather than operator error.

I’m becoming the same way, although my current Achilles heel is Snapchat.  Sure, I can navigate my way around WordPress, Facebook, and Instagram like a boss, limited only by time and speed of my internet connection (or the blasted IT department at my office, you censoring bastards).  Snapchat is a mystery.

I downloaded it because of the silly face filters and face swap pictures I was seeing all over tarnation.  That was pretty funny stuff. I dreamed of face-swapping with my Staypuft marshmallow man figure in my office.  That didn’t work, by the way.  Or maybe I just suck at it.

This was my first successful attempt.  I have no idea what I did.  It  just made my eyes look kind of big and greener.

This was my first successful attempt. I have no idea what I did. It just made my eyes look kind of big and greener.

It took me hours to figure out how to do it.  I still don’t know what to do with pictures once I take them, other than to save them to my phone for dissemination to other sites.  How pathetic is that?  I was egged on by our secretary – or administrative assistant.  She’s a maestro at this stuff.

Note:  I mean no offense by “secretary-” it’s just easier to say.  Regardless, she’s awesome and puts up with a lot of shit from a bunch of geologists and other recalcitrant eggheads and makes sure our “very important” correspondence goes out as well as ensuring we get paid properly.  She’s awesome.

Anyway, I should have known my 5 year old kid would master this and love it dearly.  She would have easily filled up our iCloud with goofy pictures if I didn’t distract her quickly. “Look, Stella!  A walking chocolate cake!”

Stella was amused.

Stella was amused.

And amused again.

And amused again.

Strangely enough, she preferred the goofy ones to the beautiful flower princess look.

Strangely enough, she preferred the goofy ones to the beautiful flower princess look.

Felix could not care less.

Felix could not care less.

So now I can take goofy pictures.  Ok.  Now what?  And now I’m paranoid, as isn’t Snapchat kind of a pervie app that teenyboppers are using for sexting?  Eeeeew.

My love affair with Snapchat may be very short-lived.  I don’t think I’m cool enough.

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life, Parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Cat and the Snapchat

  1. joey says:

    I read the other day that no one over 30 should have a snapchat, that they don’t know what they’re doing.
    I have no information on it, because I don’t have it. I assume I wouldn’t know what I’m doing.
    It looks fun, but then ‘hours’ of anything techie sounds like a nightmare. lol

  2. Anxious Mom says:

    I don’t get it either. I have it since my friends kept after me, but I don’t get what purpose it has. If I want to talk, I can send a text. Or call. It’s cool for the kids to make funny pictures with, but that loses its appeal in about 5 minutes. #old

Leave a Reply

