Cricket Booth

Sorry, y’all.  I know this will surprise you, but I have a really hard time attempting to put together a rational thought blog with my family around, and today is the first real day I’ve had to do so in a while.  Nothing major has happened – just a long holiday weekend.  In summary:

Stella got her cast off, which was replaced by a brace.  It quickly became apparent that there wasn’t much wrong with her, but that she was afraid to move/use the arm.  I dragged out the giant inflatable pool on Saturday and took off the brace.  Despite her pleas to get it back once we went back inside, I declined.  She pitched a fit.  Wouldn’t you  know when she woke up the next morning, she was “all better?”  Hallelujah, praise jeebus.  She was heeeeeeeealed.  Broken arm chapter closed.

And snuggling feels so much better when it's blazing hot.

And snuggling feels so much better when it’s blazing hot.

My son has started to call for me in this wanna-be creepy/slow-mo low voice for some insane and hilarious reason.  I tried to get it on video, but kids are like F’ing bigfoot like that.  The particular behavior you’re trying to capture disappears like a fart when the camera phone comes out.  Just imagine a 3 year old little boy with a string-bean body and giant head saying “Hey, mwooooooooooooh-mwooooooooh.”  I about urinate on myself laughing every time he does it.  He sounds like a wee little demon.

They're damn cute when they're not trying to claw each other's eyes out.

They’re damn cute when they’re not trying to claw each other’s eyes out.

We got a new fish.  Fifi died about a week ago.  We actually were going to be fish-free for a while, but what else are you going to do on a holiday weekend?  My original hope was to maybe find some tiny goldfish that could live at least for a short while in our non-aerated/filtered bowl.  Each kid could pick one out and name it.  Nope.  All the goldfish were about 2″ long and would violently react to our tiny fish home.  So yet another betta it was.  They had babies, actually.  Stella picked out the most boring-looking one they had.  Go figure.  She named it Bubbles.  Felix was pissed, as he really wanted it to be named Beethoven.  I let him pick a “coral” for the fish – a tiny Pineapple a la SpongeBob.  I told them we’d try to get one of those small all-in-one habitats next and they could each pick out a fish (fish that won’t eat each other, of course).

Bubbles, of Bikini Bottom, I suppose.

Bubbles, of Bikini Bottom, I suppose.

I am on day 24 (!!) of the Whole 30.  One week from today I can once again eat, drink, and be merry if I so choose.  Who am I kidding?  I will at least drink and be merry….at least a little bit.  I’ve done well, but I must admit this past weekend was a struggle.  Maybe it was the 3000 degree heat.  Maybe it was all the Togetherness.  But damn I wanted some wine.  And cheese.  And I actually visualized clothes-lining an old man in WalMart who was behind me in line buying the most delicious-smelling fried chicken this world has ever known.  In all seriousness, I will make some permanent changes, but to do this so strict forever is simply not sustainable without full-time help.   I want my wine – at least on weekends.  And I think one or two cheat meals a week is fine.  I’ve also heard of some kind of special bread (Ezekial?) that’s supposedly all healthy and preservative free – to the point it has to be frozen- that I may introduce.  It’s not that I miss bread; I miss having an easy conveyance mechanism for other stuff.  You can’t damn well eat tuna or egg salad in a freaking lettuce leaf rolling down the highway to pick up a kid.  And sometimes I need to do that.

Because tiaras and flowers are patriotic, yo.

Because tiaras and flowers are patriotic, yo.

Aaaaaaand nothing says 'Murica like swords that shoot hot sparks, flames, and smoke.

Aaaaaaand nothing says ‘Murica like swords that shoot hot sparks, flames, and smoke.

Anyway, that’s it.  Pretty lame, I  know.   Hope y’all had a good 4th holiday!

Have a colorful week.

Have a colorful week.

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

