A Midsummer Fight’s Dream

Is it just me, or are most young children borderline schizophrenic?  It makes sense to me.  The constant jabbering to themselves, the odd noisy outbursts, paranoia manifested as an intense fear of threats to life and limb – like dead insects, and my personal favorite, circular illogical arguments.  Stuff like “I’m in mommy’s car.”  “No, I’M in mommy’s car.”  “No, I’M in mommy’s car.”  How about we all agree that we’re in my damn car together and ride in silence?

And minutes after slapping each other upside their heads, this happens:

It’s cute, but their mood swings give me whiplash.  It is war and peace, at any given moment.  

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life, Parenting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Midsummer Fight’s Dream

  1. joey says:

    Ah, yes, I know it well.
    It’s so shocking at times, isn’t it? When one of our kids would be home sick for the day, when the others would come home, they would act like they hadn’t seen one another in years. Hugging and kissing “I missed you so much!” and off they’d go, to catch up. Not twenty minutes later, “Stop breathing so loud!” “Stop scraping your fork!” “Oh my God, go away!” INSANE.

  2. I can completely relate to all of this!

  3. Anxious Mom says:

    I’m only now beginning to see a little bit of this. Wtf is up with the stupid noises they aim in each other’s direction that piss the other off?!

Leave a Reply

