The Stars and Wipes

Y’all, I had the best meeting yesterday with Stella’s new teacher.  As you probably recall, we had a horrendous kindergarten year with a horrible demon of a teacher I referred to as the Harpy.  After loads of meetings during the year, and almost ugly-crying in front of the principal and guidance counselor during the  last one, we were granted the Rock Star of 1st grade teachers.  I think the school figured we deserved a break; we had suffered enough.

This is the teacher everyone wants.  She’s won Teacher of the Year.  She’s known for being a fair, effective teacher – one who still has an abundance of passion and zest for her profession, despite being a 16 year veteran.  She’s the teacher you consider using voodoo magic –  sacrificing a chicken in the back yard – to get (whereas with the Harpy you’d simply get a voodoo doll and a hell of a lot of pins).

She called me out of the blue to ask if I could come up for a quick meeting.  She wanted us to get a chance to talk one on one prior to school starting.  The meeting was magical.  I know that sounds crazy, but I could not have asked for anything more.  She said she knew Stella, she knew Stella could win those Student of the Week/Month awards, that Stella didn’t need to be behavior charted to death, that she wanted Stella to feel like the other kids, that she hated labeling kids – giving them something that they would have to carry with them forever, that labeling kids hurt her heart.

Before I left, she handed me a  couple of hand wipes and instructed me to “wipe all the bad memories of last year off” and toss them.  We hugged and high-fived.    Later that afternoon, she texted me to say “thank you,” and even expressed more good thoughts about how we were going to have a great year.  Then she sent a photo of her watching Stella’s science video on YouTube.

I almost cried, I was so grateful.  I’m tearing up now just typing this out.  The Harpy really did a number on us.  I knew I was relieved at the end of the year, making jokes about surviving kindergarten, but I’m not sure I realized how anxious and hurt I had been for my kid.  This is the teacher my kid – that all kids – deserve.  I’m still anxious about my daughter going into first grade, but it’s more of a happy anticipation.  I know we still have a long way to go, but I feel infinitely better about the guide we have to get us through this next year.

Fingers and toes crossed.

I've used this one before, but I'm happy enough to puke rainbows.

I’ve used this one before, but I’m happy enough to puke rainbows.

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life, Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Stars and Wipes

  1. joey says:

    I am SO pleased for y’all! Woo-hoo! I’m not a Woo Girl, I’m really not, but WOO-HOO!

  2. Anxious Mom says:

    New teacher sounds amazing!! ❤

  3. Merbear74 says:

    Yes! Great news. 🙂

  4. Marta Frant says:

    The photo has reminded me of the movie ‘Big eyes’ by Tim Burton. It’s one of the best film I’ve ever seen.

Leave a Reply

