Hands Up Don’t Chute

I think I’ve angered my mother-in-law mightily?  Why, you ask? Because she sent my daughter home with this:


Sure, it seems innocuous enough.  How can anyone be offended by such a sweet, classic board game, right?  I must be a crazy bitch, right?

 With Stella’s school system being closed due to floods, my MIL has been helpful watching her the past couple of weeks so that I could manage to get to work at all.   And with their return to our house each day, I’ve been regaled with stories of Chutes and Ladders marathons. It was their thing – late summer days at Oui Oui’s playing Chutes and Ladders.

Oui Oui pulled a fast one.  Now Chutes and Ladders lives at my house.  I honestly didn’t think much of it at first.  It’s easily been 35 years since I indulged in a round of the greatest game on earth.  I clearly blocked it out, it’s so painful.

There are certain games that one can’t play once one has a job or any other kind of responsibility, as they’re simply too time-consuming.  Risk comes to mind, as does Monopoly (or is it Monotony?).  I am putting Chutes and Ladders on that list.  Each game is an eternity.  And just when you think it’s over and there’s a winner, and you don’t even care who won just as long as it’s over, the would-be winner lands on that big F’ing chute and the whole thing starts over.  It mocks you.  It teases you.

Somehow  it is more offensive that it’s the special Dora edition.  Stella always wants to be Dora, and her opponent has to be Diego.  To hell with that. I was Backpack.

I may leave the game out one night.  Maybe a cat will pee on it, or maybe Felix will turn it into some kind of machine or Precious the spinner.  And if you see Oui Oui, apologize for whatever it is I did. 

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life, Parenting, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hands Up Don’t Chute

  1. Anxious Mom says:

    That effing game. Pretty sure every game played cancels out a sin.

    My MIL sent home toy trumpets with my kids Saturday. Dafuq?

  2. joey says:

    I concur. It’s like Sorry for little people. Endless. You poor thing. Must take Oui Oui some fleurs or somethin.

Leave a Reply

