Things Are Not Always What They Theme

I’ve barely had time to breathe lately, things have been so busy.  I haven’t had time to read blogs much less write many.  Sorry guys!  I promise it’s not that I don’t care.  It’s time for Daisy Scouts again -started yesterday.  And now there’s landfill duty, which will be revisited later, no doubt, but suffice it to say all of the flood debris has to go somewhere and my agency is the guardian of landfills.  And it’s birthday season.  That’s a biggie.  Will wanted me to take off Monday.  I didn’t need to (work) but couldn’t say no (my husband’s birthday).  I’m so behind.  So, so behind.

Speaking of birthdays, Stella’s party is coming at me like a damn freight train.  No, more like one of those Japanese bullet trains.  And this year feels different because she’s older, her friends are older, and I think the expectations are higher.  What’s more, she’s actually picked a theme that makes sense: Powerpuff Girls.

We’ve had themes every year.  The first 3 were my doing, since she was too little and completely at my mercy.  After that, I started to ask for her input.  It didn’t always make sense.

Her first birthday was at the beach.  We got a nautical cupcake and left it at that.

Her first birthday was at the beach. We got a nautical cupcake and left it at that.

Her 2nd party was Yo Gabba Gabba themed, with a bounce-house and a huge reminder that it's still hot as balls in Louisiana in September.

Her 2nd party was Yo Gabba Gabba themed, with a bounce-house and a huge reminder that it’s still hot as balls in Louisiana in September.

Her 3rd birthday was farm animals and Hello Kitty accouterments.  This one was great.  And it bears mentioning that the farm these animals came from went underwater a few weeks ago.  Beyond sad.

Her 3rd birthday was farm animals and Hello Kitty accouterments. This one was great. And it bears mentioning that the farm these animals came from went underwater a few weeks ago. Beyond sad.

I’m still not sure why she wanted a Lightning McQueen party when she turned 4.  Sure, she’s seen the movie but didn’t seem to actually enjoy it.

10649533_10152717891607372_3814155214170080905_n

Last year, she wanted a My Little Pony Party.  Oh, and she had to wear her Princess Captain America dress.  Sure, we’ve watched My Little Pony.  For like 5 minutes.  She seemed absolutely bored with it, and usually would scream “NO!” if you tried to turn it on.  And she’s never watched even a commercial for the Avengers.  Doesn’t make sense.

12033163_10153662116972372_3219851155691324942_n

This year, she finally picked something that is timely and corresponds with something she actually watches.  She loves the relaunch of the Powerpuff Girls, and even enjoys the reruns on Netflix.  Brilliant.  I even put a picture of them on her bo-bo handmade invitations I took to school in a rush after the 3+ week flooding delay.

You know what?  There’s not merde out there currently commercially available for Powerpuff Girl party supplies.  Dammit.  I found a few things, but the rest will have to be generic superhero pop art kind of things.  I thought I had solved the cupcake issue (since none of the local cake places do Powerpuff Girl cakes) by trying to draft my brother-in-law’s girlfriend to help; she has mad baking skills and could no doubt help me whip up some kind of Powerpuff-ish cupcake topping thing.  She’ll be in Tennessee and can’t do it.  The night before is Open House and I can’t do it.  Dammit.  And as previously stated, I don’t have time to spend hours on Pinterest researching some kind of ass-hattery I couldn’t pull off anyway.  I don’t know what I’m going to do.

And Felix?  He’s already talking about wanting a McQueen/Beethoven cake next year when it’s his birthday.  Seriously?

Ok, artsy friends.  You have until February to draw or otherwise create a picture of Beethoven driving Lightning McQueen.

Ok, artsy friends. You have until February to draw or otherwise create a picture of Beethoven driving Lightning McQueen.

In the meantime, if I’m sporadic reading and writing, don’t hold it against me! I’m still here and I miss y’all!

 

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life, Parenting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Things Are Not Always What They Theme

  1. joey says:

    Oh I totally relate to this. I think I have thrown ALL the character parties! lol
    We cut the little two off with that at age 6, but I still think I had them all! I remember my son’s Harry Potter party, and Sassy was kinda bummed that that stuff wasn’t at the bakery and in the party aisle when she started reading them. SO that $12 wand I bought Bubba is now sold for like $100 on ebay. :O

  2. Erika says:

    A Beethoven-McQueen cake? LOL! I hope you’re able to get caught up!

Leave a Reply

