Longitude and Gratitude 

I recently met a friend for a quick cup of coffee.  As we sat talking, I had an out-of-body moment where I realized I probably sounded like I was on cocaine.  I was practically raving, talking 90 mph about what all I had to do.  

I need to slow down. I need to try to be more in the moment sometimes.  I need to stop worrying about what hasn’t been done yet and focus on what is done and right with the world.  I need to spend some time on gratitude.

My area is still reeling from a horrible summer.  First the violence and protests, then the flood.  Oh man, the flood.  There is still so much damage, so much to be done.  For those of us who were spared, there is almost a sense of survivor’s guilt.  While at coffee with my friend, I ran into another old acquaintance. We started talking about who took on water and who didn’t. At the end of the conversation everyone chuckled almost nervously, and my friend made a comment such as “now that we’re all depressed….”  But it feels wrong not to talk about it – not to ask.  At the end of the day, my online raving managed to raise roughly $3000 to give to people affected by the flooding. I think that’s pretty good. I also just picked up a huge pile of school supplies donated by the college students from my alma mater.  I’m grateful to all those who contributed.  That’s huge.

I haven’t even talked about Stella’s birthday party. It actually was a smashing success. I’m not sure why, but I was so much more relaxed this year than I ever have been before. Maybe it’s simply a matter of experience with these things.  We had a good turnout, and everyone seemed to have a good time.  That night, Stella came and sat down beside me. She hugged me for a minute and thanked me for making this “the best birthday ever.”  I responded that several people helped with setting  up and such.  She replied, “I know, but it was you who made it.”  That almost made me tear up.  

Air hockey and bouncey things

I made the cupcakes. And did NOT fret about them not being good enough.

Stella as her favorite Powerpuff Girl. A girl’s gotta have a party dress!


Speaking of gratitude, she also has been working on the concept of thank you notes.  Her handwriting is appalling, but it’s the sentiment that matters.

And her teacher.  I am so very grateful each day that this wonderful person is in our lives.  I don’t have a knot in my stomach every day when I pick Stella up.  I don’t feel like “the bad kid’s mom” when I go to the school to volunteer or have lunch or meet for Daisy Scouts.

And I’m grateful my kids are about to experience air travel for the first time.  We leave Friday to visit my dad in Virginia Beach.  I’m trying not to fret over that blasted hurricane.  We’ll just be soggy and windblown.  I’m just so excited to go somewhere new – to breathe different air.


With that, I’m off.  While taking a few minutes to think about gratitude is a good thing, it doesn’t erase the fact that my to do list is taller than I am. Hope y’all are having a good week.

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life, Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Longitude and Gratitude 

  1. Erika says:

    Those cupcakes look tasty! Good job! I’m glad she had such a good party.

    We will be in the path of that storm, hoping it will shift east and go out to sea.

  2. joey says:

    Seriously, between the money you’ve raised for the flood victims, and the incredible compliment from your daughter, you’ve got to take some time to relish your accomplishments. I know how hard it is to slow down, but you can be thankful and proud very quickly 🙂

Leave a Reply

