Let Them Eat Fake

I’ve been kind of sporadic with my posts lately.  Much of it has been trying to avoid the venom and bile – or piss and vinegar, if you’d prefer – of the election.  I voted early, if for no other reason than to be able to say to people, “Shut it down.  I’ve already voted.  I don’t need to discuss it any more.”  But lots of folks have had a really hard time shutting it down.  It’s like when I say to people here that I just don’t do football and they want to f’ing tell me about it anyway.  Geez.  Boundaries, y’all.

But it’s been ugly.  I don’t think anyone can argue that point, at least.  So I haven’t been reading – or writing – blogs.  I’ve been staying the hell out of Instagram and Facebook for the most part.  If you  know that something is going to make you feel absolutely horrible, why do it?  I’m hoping it’s safe to start venturing back out.

I want things to get back to normal.  I want people to chill out and stop being so freaked out.  It’s over.  Can we start to feel a bit of holiday spirit?  Just a tingle?  A twinge?  At the very least can we be happy that this kinda crappy year is almost over?

A good real-world example: we had fun at the beach even with a hurricane coming.

A good real-world example: we had fun at the beach even with a hurricane coming.

All of this has sucked a whole lotta energy out of this world.  It’s like being around someone who is chronically depressed or otherwise negative.  You can have the best outlook and energy but being around someone like that sucks the life right out of you.  No matter how hard you try, it starts to affect you.  It’s vampiric.  You get tired.  You start to feel sad or pissed off yourself, even if there’s no obvious trigger.

My kids (well, mainly Stella) playing a cool game called Suspend by Melissa and Doug.

My kids (well, mainly Stella) playing a cool game called Suspend by Melissa and Doug.

Physics!

Physics!

So as trite as it sounds, I’m “faking it until I make it” right now.  I’m going to smile, dammit, even if the twinkle in my eye means I’d like to clothesline someone. I’m going to start taking my lunch outside when I’m at the office to take advantage of the fresh non-100-degree air.   I’m going to enjoy my daughter watching something like Nyancat with it’s goofy non-stop song and the rainbows coming out of its Pop-Tart butt.  I’m going to make a point to feel grateful for the stuff that IS good and beautiful and right with the world.

So there.

Talk about learning through play!

Talk about learning through play!

Felix just watched and kept trying to Precious the pieces.

Felix just watched and kept trying to Precious the pieces.

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life, Parenting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Let Them Eat Fake

  1. Anxious Mom says:

    Amazingly, things were much calmer on Facebook today with my friends. Less fear, hate, anger. Maybe I’ll put my Christmas tree up this weekend and set everyone off again.

  2. rhythminlife says:

    Looks like a cool game

Leave a Reply

