Three Frog Night

“Boy!  Things have been so busy lately!”  Or how about, “It’s been crazy-hectic the past few weeks.”  I think I’ve probably opened at least 75% of my blogs and other various correspondence with such words.  Don’t get me wrong: it’s absolutely true.  What has changed is the level of the busy and the crazy-hectic.

I suppose I should delegate more...

I suppose I should delegate more…

I was doing one of those office purges we all need to do from time to time, going through old file drawers and email archives.  I happened upon an email from an old friend and former colleague; she left my agency and went private sector, meaning that while we both still work downtown, we simply don’t see each other as much as we used to when we worked under the same roof.  It happens.  In any case, the email exchange consisted of us trying to find a day to schedule lunch together so that we could catch up.  Y’all, that email was over a year ago.  We never did catch up.  No surprise, really.  We both work full time and have 2 kids.  Hers are twins.  Now that our kids are older I’m not sure if that makes it easier or harder.  Maybe easier?  At least hers are at the same educational level and going to the same school.  I don’t suppose it matters.

Crazy-hectic.  Super-busy.  Yep.

Then I think back to when I used to say those words.  At the time, I did think I was super-busy and things were crazy-hectic.  There were camping trips to plan, work, housekeeping.  Then came home-improvements while the jobs became more important since we were paying a mortgage vs rent.  Then along came Stella and then there was feeding schedules along with everything else required to keep a kid alive, work, housekeeping, and sorting out child care.  Then Felix –  just double the previous sentence.  And on and on.

Now we’re careening through the holiday season.  And there’s class parties and parades and presents and cake bingos and errands and festivals and decorating and when are we going to make our paper garland and homework.  Dammit, I’m tired of the homework.  We hit the door every afternoon around 4:00 on non-Daisy days but it’s easily 6:30 or 7:00 by the time I’ve fed everyone, bathed kids as required, and the stupid homework is done.  And she’s only in first f’ing grade.  And it’s only Stella.  What happens in a few years when I’m dealing with 2 kids and 2 different sets of homework?!

Stella uses her time effectively, snapping a quick selfie in the car on the way to pick up Felix...Before we do the doggone homework.

Stella uses her time effectively, snapping a quick selfie in the car on the way to pick up Felix…Before we do the doggone homework.

I suppose I’ll adjust as I always have.

Felix has been concerned I haven't been taking care of myself, and elected to give me a makeover.

Felix has been concerned I haven’t been taking care of myself, and elected to give me a makeover.

If I could’ve looked forward 5 years ago and seen how the definitions of super-busy and crazy-hectic would change, I probably would have gotten a nosebleed and thrown up all over myself.  I guess with time it just slowly creeps up on you until you’re managing it because you simply must.  It’s like the storied frogs being boiled.  They start off in a nice cool pot of water and then it starts heating up.  I guess you just don’t notice until things are hot indeed.

Yeah, my tiara is a bit droopy by the end of the day, too.

Yeah, my tiara is a bit droopy by the end of the day, too.

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life, Parenting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Three Frog Night

  1. w1nt3l says:

    My daughter is 10 next week, in the 4th grade, and my wife and I are always doing something. No rest for the weary 🙂

  2. Anxious Mom says:

    It’s insanity! If I worked full time, I’m pretty sure I’d be throwing back anxiety meds like they’re candy. And yes all the homework is ridiculous. Like is 7 hours of being in school for a 6 year old isn’t enough?!

    • larva225 says:

      I. Just. Don’t. Understand. It. Especially when there are so many studies showing kids need play and movement, and that they are cognitively not ready for that kind of sustained focused work, and that learning through play is better….. So why don’t our “experts” hear that?! Sorry. I’m done.

      • Anxious Mom says:

        LM gets 40 minutes total for lunch and recess each day. Let them be fucking kids! I think it’s Finland maybe that delays reading and other stuff until age 7 and really focuses on playing and developing social skills, and their results are great.

  3. joey says:

    Superbly written, m’dear!
    You aren’t kiddin about tryin to make time with other mommies. My girlfriends and I have all been there. It’s still hard for some now, but it really does get better as they get older, and you get better at it, too.

Leave a Reply

