Cake Love, Not War

As anticipated, it was a wild and crazy weekend.  It was one of those weekends where everything was happening all at once and there was just no way to do it all.  Saturday was the main event, with voting early, then the huge family Xmas get-together with Will’s extended family, followed by the parade that night.  The family shindig is always crowded, always wonderful, but it’s kind of tiring.  We all conceded that this was the quietest it’s perhaps ever been – the kids are getting older and less rowdy.  But by the end, spurred by the knowledge that we only had about 2 hours of downtime before saddling back up to the parade, I was grabbing my children and running out of there like Michael Jackson in a  Pepsi commercial full of cheap pyrotechnics.

On our way to vote.  Felix had been crowned king.  Or should I say "tiarad" king.  Whatever works, I guess.

On our way to vote. Felix had been crowned king. Or should I say “tiara’d” king. Whatever works, I guess.

Felix got a Dinotrux toy he's in love with, plus this hat that he insisted on wearing all day - even inside.

Felix got a Dinotrux toy he’s in love with, plus this hat that he insisted on wearing all day – even inside.

The parade was nice.  Stella became a bit unglued.  No surprise.  Felix did ok until the parade actually reached our spot and then proceeded to try to fall asleep in my arms.  He’s still my little bitty dude, but he’s a whopping 35 pounds now, and after about 2o minutes of that, my lower back felt like I had been hit by a Buick.

Sunday was cake bingo for the Daisy Scout event.  Y’all, I drove myself crazy trying to make something pretty that people would want to choose.  I didn’t want my cake to be the pastry equivalent of a fat kid in gym class getting picked last.  I actually made 2 things: a gingerbread cake upon which I placed a paper snowflake to use as a template, then drizzled with confectioners’ sugar.  It worked ok.  I jazzed it up with some candy canes and cute origami stars.  I also made Oreo peppermint bark, similarly adorned with stars.  My origami stars are the bomb, y’all.

After helping the Daisies with greeter duty, we were dismissed to go participate.  Luckily, Oui Oui and Will’s grandmother came along.  Wouldn’t you know, Stella won a cake on a card she was playing with Oui Oui.  Beginner’s luck.  She picked what was without a doubt one of the ugliest cakes I’ve ever seen.  Behold:

I guess they were going for a naked cake exterior, using only diaphanous schmears of red and green icing.  All well and good, only the white, blue, and purple sprinkles on top don't really go with it.  It does taste good, for what that's worth; Stella has already proclaimed that this is her cake, and that her daddy and Felix can only have one tiny piece each.  I was not granted a piece.

I guess they were going for a naked cake exterior, using only diaphanous schmears of red and green icing. All well and good, only the white, blue, and purple sprinkles on top don’t really go with it. It does taste good, for what that’s worth; Stella has already proclaimed that this is her cake, and that her daddy and Felix can only have one tiny piece each. I was not granted a piece.

But she was excited and loved it.  And candidly, after seeing that cake, I was pretty pleased with my efforts.  But wouldn’t you know it, my cake and peppermnit bark were still waiting sadly when we left.  Dammit.  Next time I’m just buying a stupid grocery store cake.

Stella upon realizing that although she had won this cake, we didn't have knives, forks, and everything else required to actually eat it.

Stella upon realizing that although she had won this cake, we didn’t have knives, forks, and everything else required to actually eat it.

There were more events we had wanted to attend – lights and caroling in the park Friday night, which I omitted with the knowledge that Saturday would kick our asses, and a Creole Xmas yesterday afternoon after cake bingo, which we just didn’t have the energy for.  Next weekend we have fun things on the calendar, but it’s more manageable.  I’m ready to be able to finally relax a bit and enjoy the season!

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life, Parenting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cake Love, Not War

  1. joey says:

    Girl, you can send me your peppermint bark! 😛 lol
    That IS a truly ugly cake. I get the naked cake intent, but it’s just all kindsa wrong. So I guess if she wants to hoard her ugly cake, then whatever. I’d totally die if my kid said I couldn’t eat her cake. Like, she would never live that dowwwn. Hah!

  2. Anxious Mom says:

    I’d eat dat (to be read like “I’d hit dat”).

Leave a Reply

