In the Cheat of the Night

You know that sense of nostalgia that you get, that feeling, it’s almost in your sternum. It’s that feeling that everybody  is where they’re supposed to be. It’s that feeling that everything is right with the world, and it’s the best world it can be.  That’s what Xmas should feel like.  That’s my goal.  That’s the feeling I want my kids to remember as they grow up.

We did a good job with it this weekend.  We had events planned, but it wasn’t as frantic and frazzling as the previous weekend.  There was time to relax a bit and feel the season.  We went to something of a Xmas carnival Friday night.  The kids finally got to chat with the fat man.  We rode rides.  The light displays were lovely.  Everyone was peaceful.  There was no drama.  It was just about as perfect a night as one could wish for.

I guess that's her elf pose?

I guess that’s her elf pose?

She almost elbowed Santa in the nose.

She almost elbowed Santa in the nose.

Stella pretending to be Bono in the With or Without You video

Stella pretending to be Bono in the With or Without You video

Nothing says Xmas like a ferris wheel

Nothing says Xmas like a ferris wheel

Saturday was bloody hot.  It was not the most Xmassy-feeling day.  But we did not waste it.  We explored downtown and took the kids to the capital building.  From a distance, our capital is sort of obnoxious – phallic-looking.  Inside it’s pretty damn impressive.  I thought the highlight would be going out on the 27th floor observation deck, but I think the kids liked the inside even better, with its ornate decorations.  It was a good outing.  Stella got a bit odd when we got to the huge statue and grave of Huey P. Long.  I’m going to have to have that talk with her PDQ.

Cannons are not your typical holiday symbol

Cannons are not your typical holiday symbol

A really pretty place, even if its occupants are not always so pretty

A really pretty place, even if its occupants are not always so pretty

Resting on a swanky stone bench

Resting on a swanky stone bench

That night, Will had plans with his brother.  I had promised the kids we could do campfire cooking -hot dogs and marshmallows –  which they adore.  Unfortunately the weather started to deteriorate due to the imminent 40 degree temperature drop.  I made do.  I cheated.  When the kids weren’t looking, I nuked the hot dogs (call it “par cooking” if you will) and then let them hold their sticks over a candle.  I think they bought it.

The trick is to keep your hotdog out of the wax

The trick is to keep your hotdog out of the wax

Then I tried an experiment.  The natives seemed peaceful and agreeable, so I turned on a mommy show: Christmas Vacation.  It’s one of my 5 must watch Xmas movies.  They settled in, dazzled by the animated intro.  They started griping almost immediately when the actors appeared on-screen.  After about 10 minutes they were playing on the iPad, ignoring me and my movie.  Dammit.  They didn’t get the feeling.

It was so sweet while it lasted...

It was so sweet while it lasted…

That’s the way these movies make me feel. As cheesy as chintzy as they are. And I didn’t get there with my children this year. They’re too young. I know that. But I hope desperately that one day these movies will bring them the same kind of feeling that it they bring me. That this will be a way of channeling their youth – when things were easier, simpler, and just flat out better.  Maybe next year.

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life, Parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to In the Cheat of the Night

  1. joey says:

    I think the reason we had ‘that feeling’ was because we were not adults. I think our kids have their own feelings, which they are not presently aware of, and which they will only recognize when they’re not having it. They had fun. You did good 😀

  2. w1nt3l says:

    Huey P. Long, lol, I’m obviously not a good role model 🙂

    The family watched Christmas Vacation on Saturday after a day of baking cookies. My daughter only seemed to be around when the cookies needed a taste test. She ended up falling asleep 15 minutes in and my wife and I laughed through the movie. I’ve seen it 100 times, but I still laugh at it. “I wouldn’t be more surprised if I woke up tomorrow with my head stapled to the carpet.” ROFL

    The other classic is A Christmas Story, and I managed to watch the whole thing over a 24 hour period during Christmas festivities. “It…..it twas….. soap…poisoning!” “Meatloaf, meatloaf, double beatloaf, I hate meatloaf.”

    If it weren’t for the movies, Christmas for me would be intolerable.

  3. Anxious Mom says:

    What are your other four Christmas movies?

    • larva225 says:

      I’m embarrassed. I actually have 6 must-watches:
      Christmas Vacation (obviously)
      1938 Christmas Carol (with Reginald Owen as Scrooge)
      1951 Christmas Carol (with Alastair Sim as Scrooge)
      Scrooge (1970 musical with Albert Finney as Scrooge and Obi-Wan himself as Marley!!)
      It’s a Wonderful Life
      Christmas Story

      And dammit but my family make it so hard to watch them…. Ingrates!

      • Anxious Mom says:

        I hope you release a retraction post.

        That’s quite a lot of Scrooge! I’ve watched the first one and the last one. LM had asked to watch the latest Scrooge movie earlier, so thanks for the reminder 😀

Leave a Reply

