Season d’Etre

So tonight is the big night.  I just saw the Santa tracker on Facebook and he’s over Australia right about now. And thanks to that awesome airline passenger that posted the video of Santa passing in front of the moon, my daughter is now firmly convinced that Rudolph is, in fact, real.

In all seriousness, we’re ready to go. All the gifts are wrapped, the turkey has been bought, and now we’re just settling in waiting for the big show.  As you might expect, my kids are bouncing off the walls. It’s going to be a fun day but a long day also.  This is why I’m blogging from a playground – hoping these little people can burn off some noise and energy before we have to go back home and I start cooking.  I have my oven schedule made and ready to go. Don’t pity me. I secretly love it, although I’d love it even more if I had a double oven.

We did Christmas at my in-laws’ last night.  The gumbo was absolutely delicious (my father-in-law’s gumbo is the best in the known universe) and the gifts lovely – and certainly whetted the appetites of my children.  

In typical Louisiana fashion, it’s near 80°. That freak cold snap we had last weekend was just that – freakish.  My kids are out at the playground sweating in short sleeves. I think tomorrow it’s supposed to be warmer. That’s OK. We’ll have Christmas anyway  as evidenced by the jingle bells tied in my son’s ponytails. Don’t ask. He wanted some and I couldn’t say no.

This is one of those times of year where I suppose a person takes stock.  I think 2016 will go down as a rather tough year for many many people.  It seems like it brought more than its fair share of death, sickness, and disaster.  As heartbreaking as it’s been, I have to admit that my household has weathered it better than many. I’m grateful for that.  There are still thousands of people in my area that cannot be home for Christmas due to their flooded homes.  That thought weighs heavily on my mind – especially today.  I hope each and every one of those families finds a way to have their own Christmas miracle somehow.

I also hope that each and everyone of you has a wonderful Christmas. Despite the fact that I’ve never met most of you, y’all always give me the sense that I’m not alone in this world.  And that’s a true gift.

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life, Parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Season d’Etre

  1. Merry Christmas! I hope you (and your adorable family!) have a 100% wonderful holiday! ❤

  2. Anxious Mom says:

    His hair bells are adorable ❤ Merry Christmas to you guys!

  3. joey says:

    I feel your gratitude and your joy and I am so glad it’s merry down your way 🙂

  4. desleyjane says:

    Lovely post. It would be awful to be one of those flooded families. I hope you had a wonderful Christmas.

Leave a Reply

