Stop, Caltrop, and Roll

I hope each and everyone of you out there had a wonderful magical Christmas.  I suppose we are in that odd holiday purgatory, floating between Christmas and New Year’s eve. No one is quite sure what day of the week it is at this point. Bedtimes are nebulous. Eating schedules are all out of whack.  The kids and I are currently in Meridian, Mississippi, along with my mother, for a visit.  For whatever reason, this only seems to add to the confusion.

I guess when it’s all said and done, I haven’t had much of a chance to really reflect on Christmas.  I know it was busy. I know I spent a lot of time in the kitchen cooking. I know that, most importantly, there was no drama.  There’s one thing that’s eating at me – which will be covered in another post at another time – but for now it’s just simmering somewhere in the back of my mind.  As with anything though, every major event serves to teach me some new lessons. Here is what I have learned this year:

  • Children really don’t need presents. No matter how hard you work trying to find the perfect gift, at the end of the day, a skein of yarn is just as glorious as a remote-controlled Dinotrux toy. 
  • It is absolutely possible to double the magic. Stella lost her first tooth on Christmas Eve day, meaning that the Tooth Fairy and Santa Claus would both be visiting the same night. I daresay both magical creatures managed to pull it off without stepping on each other’s toes.
  • Santa Claus really ought to reconsider leaving Nerds candy in stockings. When the boxes spill, which they inevitably will, they become the equivalent of invisible tiny caltrops on the floor. Will is still bitching about tiny bruises on the bottoms of his feet.
  • Use your stocking stuffers responsibly. Santa brought Felix some small old style cap-guns in the shape of rockets.  Felix promptly named them bombs and the bombs became Precious.  They slept with him/us.  There’s nothing like waking up with a diecast rocket in your armpit.  Anyway, apparently the mere ownership of such things turns one into a terrorist.  Felix first suggested bombing the chihuahuas next door -not that I can blame him, but next thing I know, he’s talking about bombing buildings and bombing people.  I can only hope that Bomb won’t be a Precious for too much longer.​
About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life, Parenting, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Stop, Caltrop, and Roll

  1. Cookie says:

    I f my kid ever did that to my house with the yarn I would buy a new roll and tie him up with it. You have way more patience than I do!

  2. Anxious Mom says:

    Send him over to bomb our annoying neighbor’s Chihuahua when he’s done!

  3. joey says:

    Hehe! Adorable! I love Felix’s stocking, very cute. Bomb, not as much, but you know, precious 😉

  4. Pingback: TWAMS Year In Review | That's What Anxious Mom Said

Leave a Reply

