Sweep It Under the Drug

Have you ever done something so absent-minded that you wondered if someone hadn’t slipped you some kind of mind-altering substance? (That’s foreshadowing, yo.)

I’ve mentioned it before, but I’ve been taking Wellbutrin for about a year after I decided I needed something to take the edge off of moods that had therefore been rather atypical.  I think it’s done it’s job.  It’s a mellow little thing, this Wellbutrin, but it’s been just enough.  Regardless, after a year, it’s become automatic.  Wake in the morning, grab a cup of coffee or strong tea, feed the cats, take my crazy pill.  Every day.

I keep my pill bottle next to the kitchen sink.  It’s in a little nook reserved for prescription bottles.  Over the Xmas break, we had a couple more than usual, as Stella was given a prescription tablet to try to treat the postnasal drip-induced cough that made her sound like she belonged on a TB ward.  Stella’s ADHD pill bottle is also kept there.

You can see where this is going.

I have no idea what kind of fugue I was experiencing a day or so after Xmas, but before I knew it, I had swallowed a Focalin capsule instead of my normal crazy pill.  Oh. My. Glob.  I didn’t know what to do.  Induce vomiting?  Eat a sandwich?  Take a shower? Call poison control? Was I going to wig out?  And holy crap would Stella run out of meds because her crazy mother had popped one of her pills (because y’all, these people are assholes about filling this stuff since it can be abused… yeah, by 6 year olds I guess)?  Would she have an all F day at school as a result of my carelessness?

I ran to wake up Will, since he’s taken about every kind of ADHD  med in the catalog.  He just laughed and told me not to drink too  much coffee.  Too late.  I had already had 3.5 cups.  He also said if we somehow ran out, there were ways around it.  Sometimes your doc could make a call because sometimes pills get barfed up or dropped down the sink, right?

As you can imagine, I survived.  I didn’t wig out.  I felt a bit more “awake” than usual.  And since my my reckoning, Stella missed a couple of doses over the summer, we should have a day or two cushion.  But that monkey is off my back, I swear.  Nothing but soft stuff like Midol and Ibuprofen for this girl!

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life, Parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sweep It Under the Drug

  1. w1nt3l says:

    Could have been worse. Could have taken a dilaudid (wife’s pain med from the last surgery) instead of an allergy pill. The damn things are about the same size. Oh wow, was that interesting, didn’t go to work that day, lol.

  2. joey says:

    Oh you poor dear, but kinda haha now that it’s over! I’d probably have an anxiety attack. I’m glad it’ll all come out in the wash.

  3. Merbear74 says:

    Wellbutrin makes me manic…I didn’t sleep for 3 days. OMG, it was awful.

  4. Anxious Mom says:

    Oh lord! I’m glad it didn’t have any nasty effects on you.

Leave a Reply

