Everything’s Just Fine and Dandelion

I’ll be honest: we really don’t care much about our yard.  We’re working on it, sure, but that’s been one of the things that as working parents of 2 young kiddos we’ve had to “let go.”  Will cuts the grass and weed eats and we usually attempt some random haphazard “garden” of mixed edibles and ornamentals with zero thought whatsoever into their placement or aesthetic value.  And the grass itself?  It can go straight to hell.  I care not for grass, provided it’s not prairie-like to the point that I see the neighbors pointing.  With that in mind, I typically scoff at the putzes that spend a mint on weed and feed – especially if they bring out one of those tanker trucks.

So with all that being said, it’s probably strange that I’ve started to notice dandelions in our yard – lots of them.  Personally, I don’t care about dandelions. I find the yellow rather cheerful, and I know the greens can be edible if there’s ever a zombie apocalypse.  I also know that most homeowners find them to be a scourge, spending lots of money on the aforementioned chemicals to get rid of them.  Like most children, my kids love dandelions, especially when they’ve gone to seed and are nice and white and fluffy.  Felix will even travel the yard collecting individual white seeds, coming back with a handful of “wishes.”  Small wonder I’ve got a bumper crop of dandelions right now.

I know I’ve told y’all about our snooty neighbors Todd and Margo, right?  They love spraying chemicals on their yard. In the summer, I swear their lawn gets cut every three days. You could host Wimbledon in their front yard if it were a bigger, I tell you.  You know what I bet they hate?  Dandelions.  I may load my kids up with the white fuzzy ones and send them up and down the sidewalk in front of their house blowing.  It’s like suburban biological warfare. Don’t feel bad for them. They seem like really awful people. And I guess I’m doing them a favor in case there’s ever a zombie apocalypse. Maybe they’ll survive with my thoughtfully-provided food source.

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life, Parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Everything’s Just Fine and Dandelion

  1. joey says:

    *sips cold coffee before telling you how it is* Bless their ignorant hearts and their fake, chemically dependent lawn, the Todds and Margos of the world can do whatever they want.
    Meanwhile, the rest of us, who understand that every chemical we use ends up IN us, do not spray crazy ish on our lawns, poisoning grass-eating critters and giving children contact dermatitis. WE provide pollen for the bees and nurseries for the lady bugs — my top two. (seriously, look up their benefits) I need bees and lady bugs for my garden, thank you very much. I happen to love the color yellow and making dandelion chains as well.

  2. Anxious Mom says:

    I’m dying at the idea of the kids getting a ton of dandelions and blowing them in their yard 😀

    Baby Girl discovered the joy of blowing dandelions last summer and now picks up every flower/weed growing out of the ground and tries to blow the petals off. It’s adorable.

Leave a Reply

