From Sea to Shining She

My son is a trip.  I know, I know.  We all think our kids are the most unique, intelligent, creative, talented, humorous, and/or gifted children that have ever traveled the earth.  I think as they get older, we can relax a bit and realize that they can’t all be the best at everything.  For instance, Stella is a brainiac.  She really is.  She just smoked an accelerated reader test on a 4.7-level book.  She’s in first grade, dammit, and she only read the thing one time.  And her memory?  It’s terrifying.  But you know what?  She’s the most literal creature I’ve ever met.  If you say something along the lines of “I’m just pulling my leg” she will look at you and inform you that you’re nowhere near her leg.  And she’s not the wittiest kid in the world.  Sure, she loves to laugh, but humor will not be her forté.  I’m intrigued to see how she progresses.  She loves doing Girl Scouts, and I’m thinking of trying maybe piano lessons or some type of martial art.  She wants nothing to do with sports.  I don’t think she’s going to be a team kind of girl.  Hell, she gets that honestly.

Felix is his own creature.  His memory is also pretty robust, but being rather free-spirited he only shares it when it’s something he chooses to discuss.  I think his spatial and engineering skills are probably off the chart.  His teacher at the playschool he attends often says they wish they had a fenced playground all for himself to just see what he would build without the interference of other kids.  His playschool is great, providing lots of “raw materials” such as lengths of bamboo, blocks of wood, bricks, and the like for kids to play with or build with how they choose.  Felix comes up with some pretty impressive contraptions.

Um?

Speaking of, he’s got 2 near my front door now that neither me or his father can bear to tear down: the original Daddy Twap and one that I believe is meant for the mailman.  His dad even went so far as to move the mailman twap carefully while cutting the grass before replacing it exactly where it had been.

My son has long meaningful discussions with plants, particularly his spider plant, Beethoven.  He got really pissed at me last night because I had left Beethoven outside too long after watering and some bugs ate some holes in his foliage.  I’ve since been charged with finding special Beethoven bug spray.

Felix and Beethoven

His hair has become a “thing.”  For whatever reason, he has decided he is not getting it cut.  It’s so long now that it definitely is getting in his eyes.  Most of the time I’ll just put the front/top part up in 2-3 “ponytails.”  If you give him any grief about his hair, he will look at you calmly and say that with the ponytails he can see “pwoperly.”  Whatever, but people are starting to refer him as “she” or “her.”  What surprises me is how much that pisses me off.  To me he’s all boy.

His ponytails are slumping a bit in the heat.

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life, Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to From Sea to Shining She

  1. joey says:

    I don’t think you can get mad about the ponytail he-she thing. Like, it’s hair. It’s his hair and I think it’s good he does what he wants and you let him — and that he can see pwoperly. My husband used to nag the boy one to get his hair cut all the time as a teen (as if husband didn’t get nagged the same) and lemme tell you, the boy one is darn near bald at 24, so I stick to the part where we shoulda let him rock those long blond curls as long as he could.
    But the reason I don’t think you should get mad, is because I have been the mom at the park all, “Is your daughter in school yet?” and it was a boy. But I couldn’t tell, because long hair, pink Converse, both ears pierced. You legit can’t get mad at a stranger. And I almost lost my mind when I found out Randy was Randi and she’d just had a buzz cut for two years because she liked her brother’s. I thought they were twin boys.
    For many years, my Sassy was the tallest, strongest ‘boy’ at the park. (She has a boy name, too.)
    I think it has to be like some secret knowing thing we do. We just love them. Who cares what they look like? Or what people think? Pleh.

    And Stella reminds me of Moo in your description. Brainy, and literal — mmhm.

  2. Erika says:

    The little ponytails are so cute. I think it’s awesome that he’s got such a sense of himself at this age to want to do his own thing.

    (BTW, Little Man’s doctor highly recommends karate for kids with ADHD, she thinks it’s the best thing since sliced bread sports-wise.)

Leave a Reply

