The Check Is In the Male

“Hi, I’m Felix the Male!”  That was the cheerful greeting my son gave pretty much every single person he ran across while we were on vacation, whether it was the 2 older ladies in lounge chairs (whom he talked into giving him a very nice gastropod shell they had found), the cleaning lady on the elevator, our waitress at dinner.  All received news of his budding masculine prowess.  I suppose I should be grateful he didn’t offer to show them all his “tail.”  A couple of months ago, that may have been a distinct possibility.


In any case, we are back from vacation.  We met my father and stepmother at the beach for 5 days.  I’m trying to sell it to them such that they might move closer to me, Stella, and my MaleChild.  The weather was solid, the surf was up, and no one killed each other.  That’s always an important box to be able to check after 5 solid days of Togetherness.  I think we were all ready to go our separate ways at the end, however.


Yesterday was bittersweet, and not just because it was my first day back in the office after the break.  It was also Stella’s last day of first grade.  I cannot believe it.  It’s simply surreal.  The girl mopped the floor with it this year.  She made all A’s except one B at the  very beginning of the year – and it barely missed the A mark.  She now has the lust for A’s and awards.  She came home yesterday with a medal around her neck for doing so well all year, and her school gives these cool dogtag medallions for various benchmarks.  She has a whole row of them now – Student of the Month, 3 Principal Awards, A-B Honor Roll.  I’m so proud.  So very very proud.


I’m hoping things ease off for a while.  She transitions straight into summer camps next week.  I have anxiety about that, of course, her having to go to different camps every week with different kids and different staff.  But we’ll make it through somehow.  I’m just relieved to get a few months off from homework and other school-related activities.  I need a summer break. In my mania, however, I’m strongly considering signing her up for piano lessons and Tae kwon do.  We’ll see.

Anyway, I’m hoping to be back more regularly, at least for a while.  Y’all have a good one!

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life, Parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Check Is In the Male

  1. joey says:

    Moo went through a similar thing with knowing her sex. I think it was like the word sex was exciting and she felt grown-up knowing hers. It was odd, but when they’re small, what isn’t?
    Glad you had a great vacation 😀
    I vote piano and TKD over day camps, so I’m not sure you have mania…. both are lifelong skills.

    • larva225 says:

      The TKD is in addition to the day camps. She declined my offer for piano, citing fear of “hitting the wrong key.” I never know with that kid. Jeez.

Leave a Reply

