I Know Why the Caged Nerd Sings

Y’all.  I finally got to see Wonder Woman.  With my mother in town, Will and I got our first date in at least a couple of months.  We made a beeline to the theater and caught it on what may very well have been its final day showing in our town.  I loved it.  The first thing out of my mouth was “I wish Stella were older so I could take her to see this.”  The second thing I did was express total awe and admiration that Gal Gadot shot most of those scenes while like 5-6 months pregnant and she looked amazing while kicking ass.  Then again, none of my maternity clothes ever had an accompanying CGI team or had blue-screen panels sewn in.  Then again, that wouldn’t have helped me a bit.  I  barely managed to haul my swollen self to the office.  She is a woman of wonder, that Gal.

See? This is what I get to wear to work sometimes, although a short little outfit with a sword and shield would have been a poor choice for wandering around inside one of those giant above-ground storage tanks they store oil/gas in.

But I was so thankful for a cool female character.  Will and I watch a lot of the superhero genre, as it’s one of those realms we can agree on.  We’ve done Daredevil, Arrow, the Flash.  They all have one thing in common: their female characters are all either whiney tits, unstable, evil, or a combination of the three.  It’s boring.  It’s also pretty damn frustrating.  In the series mentioned above, you’re waiting for them to hurry up and be killed off, thereby removing the distraction.  With Wonder Woman, you had something believable, or at least as believable as a superhero can be.  She emoted when necessary, but it was justified and didn’t require an orchestra with a bulging string section to do it.  You  never once wondered if her hormones were out of whack.  Why is it so hard to write a decent female character?  Why can’t they be funny?  Smart?  Tough?

Sorry.  I am a nerd.  I have grown to accept this.

And even during an innocent carousel ride, I can’t help but think my son was channeling his inner Khal Drogo. Yep. Nerd.

I am also raising nerd children, and you know what?  I’m totally cool with that.  Felix, especially, is obsessed with learning all sorts of random sciencey stuff.  Venus flytraps are huge right now.  Last week it was tornadoes.  He makes me find him YouTube clips and documentaries so he can learn more about his chosen topic of the day/week.  One night not that long ago, we watched sea cucumbers puke their guts out for about an hour.  That shit never gets old.  Oh wait.  It does.

The dude watching a bug being slowly digested.

I often wonder what it’s like to be part of a more typical household that watches football and stuff like that.  But I don’t waste too much time on that.  We have important science stuff to do.

Ignore me.  Today is Stella’s first day of 2nd grade and I’m a nervous wreck.  It doesn’t help that I couldn’t be there when she left this morning.

The Dude making a giant “spider web.” Shortly after this was taken I had to remove it, much to his intense displeasure. I couldn’t seem to make him understand that MyMom couldn’t cook safely with so many trip hazards present.

About larva225

Working mom. Is there any other kind? Geologist. Nerd.
This entry was posted in life, Parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to I Know Why the Caged Nerd Sings

  1. ksbeth says:

    i love this – we would get along perfectly with your family )

  2. joey says:

    We are also nerds raising nerds. You might experience more dorkdom than I do since you yourself enjoy the superheroes, whereas I experience them only as side effects of living with dorky nerds. I prefer the fine arts and they experience the side effects of that, I suppose.
    My husband likes some sport things, even I enjoy a few sport things a year, but we’re not into sport things like we are into books, music, movies, science/nature.

    It’s a pity you couldn’t see Stella off today, but you’re always with her. I hope she has a great first day.

  3. MoJo says:

    Hello fellow nerd! We salute your commit to the dorky ways, but in all fairness, we may be slightly biased. I love your little nerdlings and I actually loved your pic. It was refreshing to see a woman in a hard hart who isn’t licking a candy apple and wearing suspenders over her nips. I’m over that shit. Like you, I want Hollywood to show a woman with brains who can kick ass. I have yet to see Wonder Woman but rumor has it that she fit the bill. Even more importantly, sea cucumbers are ocean pets of the gods. They may be the most damn entertaining bags of sea goo EVER. Our kids have yet to touch them, but I couldn’t stop picking them up when we went scuba diving (somewhere that I can’t remember but was basically a sea cucumber salad) years ago. Love the post. Love you badass-ity. Keep rocking that hard hat woman. 🙂 Joanna

  4. Erika says:

    I want to see that soon. Some of Joss Whedon’s stuff isn’t technically superhero genre (although many elements are there), but it all features strong, kick-ass female leads. I love just about everything he’s done.

Leave a Reply

